Solaris

book

Shanghai Sparrow

Released 30 April 2014

By Gaie Sebold

buy now: UK|US|eBook

The author behind fantasy romps Babylon Steel and Dangerous Gifts returns to Solaris this spring with the first book in a brand new series – Shanghai Sparrow.

Shaghai Sparrow is a tale of espionage, warring empires and thrilling exploits with a dynamic heroine, which takes Steampunk out of England and into the Far East.

 Eveline Duchen is a thief and con-artist, surviving day by day on the streets of London, where the glittering spires of progress rise on the straining backs of the poor and disenfranchised. Where the Folk, the otherworldly children of fairy tales and legends, have all but withdrawn.

Caught in an act of deception by the implacable Mr Holmforth, Evvie is offered a stark choice: transportation to the colonies, or an education – and utter commitment to Her Majesty’s Service – at Miss Cairngrim’s harsh school for female spies. But on the decadent streets of Shanghai, where the Empire’s corruption is laid bare, Holmforth is about to make a devil’s bargain, and Eveline’s choices could change the future of two worlds...

With its strong female characters and fresh take on the Steampunk genre, Shanghai Sparrow will appeal to fans of Joss Whedon and Cherie Priest.

 “…a pacy fantasy romp … an entertaining slice of fun”
-The Guardian on Babylon Steel

“Sebold has a flair for storytelling.”
-SFX on Babylon Steel

UK: 9781781081846 | 8th May 2014
US: 9781781081853 | 30th April 2014

author

Gaie Sebold

Gaie Sebold lives in London, works for a charity, reads obsessively, gardens amateurishly, and sometimes runs around in woods hitting people with latex weapons. She has won awards for her poetry. Born in the US, she has lived in the UK most of her life. Her Babylon Steel and Dangerous Gifts books for Solaris have won her a noted place in the genre field.

Follow Gaie on Twitter, and for more information visit the official Gaie Sebold website