The Concrete Grove

Released 28 June 2011

By Gary McMahon

buy now UK|Us|eBook

There’s a worse horror lurking in the crumbling tower blocks of Britain than just feral gangs of hoodie-wearing teenagers, lone sharks and chavs.

Welcome to the Concrete Grove. It knows where you live...

In a serious, literary and thrilling work of true contemporary horror, Gary McMahon conjures up a very different kind of ‘Broken Britain’ – a horrific vision of dark urban streets where crime, debt and violence are not the only things to fear. A housing project has become a gateway to somewhere else, a realm where ghosts and monsters stir hungrily in the shadows.

Presented by one of the most exciting up-and-coming authors in British genre fiction today, this chilling new horror trilogy shows us a Britain many of us will recognise, while whispering of the terrible and arcane presences clawing against the boundaries of our reality.

Concrete Grove is easily Gary McMahon's most accomplished work to date. A compelling novel of extremes, it plots an exhilarating course through an unstable landscape of fragile love and blistering hate, of divinity and depravity, of the crushingly mundane and the numinously surreal.”
-Mark Morris on Concrete Grove

UK: 9781907519949 
US: 9781907519956 


Gary McMahon

Gary McMahon’s fiction has appeared in magazines and anthologies in the U.K. and U.S and has been reprinted in both The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror and The Year’s Best Fantasy and Horror. He is the British Fantasy Award-nominated author of Rough Cut, All Your Gods Are Dead, Pieces of Midnight and To Usher, The Dead, and has edited an anthology of original novelettes titled We Fade to Grey. For Abaddon Books and Solaris he has written Hungry Hearts and the Concrete Grove trilogy, and for Angry Robot he has written the Thomas Usher books.

For more information visit the official Gary McMahon website