Solaris Rising 3

Released 26 August 2014

By Dave Hutchinson, Gareth L. Powell, Ian Whates


Solaris Rising 3 pushes the boundaries of current SF publishing and hammers home, story after story,  Whates’ mission statement to prove that SF is the most exciting and inspiring of all the fiction genres; offering the poignant reflection of humanity – often funny, often dark and always surprising – that sits at the heart of all great fiction writing, and stretching it across time and space.

With contributions from Ken Liu, Rachel Swirsky, Gareth L. Powell, Aliette de Bodard, Tony Ballantyne and many, many more, Solaris Rising 3 is a diverse collection of ground-breaking stories that will be essential reading for SF fans everywhere.

Described by as “the UK’s finest editor of Science Fiction,” Whates has gathered together some of the best known names and most thrilling emerging talents in SF to contribute to this latest bumper anthology release in Solaris Book’s stellar year of anthology publishing.

Featuring stories from:
Adam Roberts // Alex Dally MacFarlane // Aliette de Bodard // Benjamin Rosenbaum // Benjanun Sriduangkaew // Cat Sparks // Chris Beckett // Gareth L. Powell // George Zebrowski // Ian R. MacLeod & Martin Sketchley // Ian Watson // Julie E. Czerneda // Ken Liu // Laura Lam // Nina Allan// Rachel Swirsky // Sean Williams // Tony Ballantyne

'The literary equivalent of a well-presented buffet of tasty snacks, this latest science fiction anthology from Solaris serves up an intriguing mix of 19 short tales from some of the best SF writers at work today.’

'This anthology of new short stories is essential reading.'
-BBC Focus magazine

UK: 9781781082089 | 11th September 2014 
US: 9781781082096 | 26th August 2014 


Dave Hutchinson

Dave Hutchinson was born in Sheffield. After reading American Studies at the University of Nottingham, he became a journalist. He’s the author of five collections of short stories and one novel, and his novella The Push was shortlisted for the 2010 BSFA award for short fiction. He has also edited two anthologies and co-edited a third. His short story 'The Incredible Exploding Man' featured in the first Solaris Rising anthology, and appeared in Year’s Best Science Fiction collection. He lives in north London with his wife and several cats.

Folow Dave on Twitter


Gareth L. Powell

Gareth L. Powell is an award-winning science fiction and fantasy author from Bristol. His third novel, Ack-Ack Macaque, co-won the 2013 BSFA Award for Best Novel. His books have been published in the UK, Germany, the USA and Japan, and have all received enthusiastic reviews in The Guardian.

Follow Gareth on Twitter, and for more information visit the official Gareth L Powell website


Ian Whates

Ian Whates is a director of both the Science-Fiction Writers Association and the British Science-Fiction Association. He is also the proprietor and editor of NewCon Press. He has written two novels and edited four anthologies for Solaris.

Follow Ian on Twitter, and find out more at the official Ian Whates website