World of Fire

Released 26 August 2014

By James Lovegrove


World of Fire is the first title in the eagerly awaited new series from James Lovegrove: an action-packed, sci-fi thriller that – appropriately enough given the conditions of Alighieri – is witty as hell.

Meet Dev Harmer, don’t worry if you’re not too good with faces, Dev’s probably won’t be the same next time you see him. As an – albeit reluctant – ISS agent Dev is used to waking up in new forms, although his current cloned host body isn’t exactly what he’d have picked out for himself, and the world of Alighieri where it currently resides is unlikely to win any tourist awards soon.

Alighieri is an infernal world, so close to the sun that its surface is regularly heated to 1,000 ͦC, enough to turn rock to lava and definitely not somewhere you’d want to get caught in daytime. Alighieri is also a valuable world, covered in precious helium-3 regolith deposits and unofficially run by the powerful mining corporations who extract it. However, with increasingly strong earthquakes ripping through the mining capital of Calder’s Edge, and rumour that the AI race of the Polis+ – man’s greatest galactic rivals – may be behind them, the industry of Alighieri is at risk.

Alongside tough, no-nonsense Chief of Police Captain Astrid Kahlo, Dev Harmer is all that stands in the way of the Polis+. But with his arrival stepping up the campaign of destruction being wrought on Alighieri, he’s certainly not making himself popular with the locals.

James Lovegrove is a NYT best-selling author, and his latest creation, Dev Harmer, is a fantastic new character who drives the action of World of Fire forward at an eye-watering pace. Following hot on the heels of his smash-hit Age of God series, this new series will appeal to both fans of Lovegrove’s previous works and lovers of action-thrillers. 

UK: 9781781082065 | 11th September 2014 
US: 9781781082072 | 26th August 2014 


James Lovegrove

James Lovegrove was born on Christmas Eve 1965 and is the author of more than 40 books. James has sold well over 40 short stories, the majority of them gathered in two collections, Imagined Slights and Diversifications. He has written a four-volume fantasy saga for teenagers, The Clouded World (under the pseudonym Jay Amory), and has produced a dozen short books for readers with reading difficulties, including Wings, Kill Swap, Free Runner, Dead Brigade, and the 5 Lords Of Pain series. He lives with his wife, two sons and cat in Eastbourne, a town famously genteel and favoured by the elderly, but in spite of that he isn’t planning to retire just yet.

For more information visit the official James Lovegrove website.